Digitization, Collaboration and the Future of Work

This blog by Prof. Dr. Jochen Günther explores various facets of digitization. Almost all areas of life are currently undergoing fundamental change. . In this context the keyword is "Digitization".

Digitalization characterizes the ever-increasing use of information technology in all areas of life. Omni-availability is an essential feature of modern information technology. Today, access to information is possible at almost any location. Mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets and laptops shape everyday life. Information is increasingly being stored in the cloud. Artificial intelligence means that such devices can take on or support increasingly demanding human tasks. Terms in this context are Collaboration, Big Data, Cognitization, the Internet of Things. As a result, the way we live and work will change fundamentally in the coming years.

This change has far-reaching consequences, especially for companies. Virtually every aspect of entrepreneurial activity is affected. Parallels are often drawn with the revolutionary social and economic changes brought about by industrialisation at the end of the 19th century.

Within a company, digitization has an impact on processes, organizational structures or existing business models. This development is best known under the term "Industry 4.0". Information technology enables greater digital integration and automation of the value chain. Externally, it changes the forms of cooperation between customers and suppliers.

Society and companies must actively embrace this profound change.

The contributions of this blog describe possible effects on society and economy.

 

About the author – Prof. Dr. Jochen Günther

This blog is operated by Dr. Jochen Günther, Professor of Business Informatics (Social Media, Audiovisual Communication, Usability) at Heilbronn University.

Certfied "Project Management Professional" (PMP) according to the PMI standard. SCRUM Master according to SCRUM Alliance. Until 2016 he worked at the Fraunhofer IAO in Stuttgart as project manager in the field of collaboration and digitization as well as head of the Competence Center Video Communication of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Munich.

en_US
de_DE en_US

Digitalisierung, Collaboration und die Zukunft der Arbeit

Dieser Blog von Prof. Dr. Jochen Günther verfolgt verschiedene Facetten der Digitalisierung. Fast alle Lebensbereiche unterliegen derzeit einem grundlegenden Wandel. DAS Schlagwort in diesem Zusammenhang ist “Digitalisierung”.

Die Digitalisierung kennzeichnet die Durchdringung aller Lebensbereiche mit Informationstechnik. Allverfügbarkeit ist ein wesentliches Merkmal moderner Informationstechnik. Zugriff auf Informationen ist heute fast an jedem Beliebigen Ort möglich. Mobile Geräte wie Smartphones, Tablets und Laptops prägen den Alltag. Informationen werden dabei immer öfter in der Cloud gespeichert. Künstliche Intelligenz führt dazu, dass solche Geräte zunehmend anspruchsvollere menschliche Aufgaben übernehmen oder unterstützen können. Begriffe in diesem Zusammenhang sind Collaboration, Big Data, Cognitization, das Internet der Dinge. In der Folge wird sich in den nächsten Jahren die Art und Weise grundlegend verändern, wie wir leben und arbeiten.

Insbesondere für Unternehmen hat dieser Wandel weitreichende Folgen. Praktisch jeder Aspekt unternehmerischer Tätigkeit ist davon betroffen. Häufig werden Parallelen gezogen zu den umwälzenden gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Veränderungen durch die Industrialisierung Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Unternehmensintern wirkt sich die Digitalisierung auf Prozesse, den organisationalen Aufbau oder auf bestehende Geschäftsmodelle aus. Bekannt ist diese Entwicklung vor allem unter dem Begriff “Industrie 4.0”. Die Informationstechnik ermöglicht eine stärkere digitale Integration und Automatisierung der Wertschöpfungskette. Unternehmensextern verändert sie die Formen der Zusammenarbeit bei Kunden und Lieferanten.

Gesellschaft und Unternehmen müssen sich diesem tiefgreifenden Wandel aktiv stellen.

Die Beiträge dieses Blogs beschreiben mögliche Auswirkungen auf Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft.

 

Über den Autor – Prof. Dr. Jochen Günther

Dieser Blog wird betrieben von Dr. Jochen Günther, Professor für Wirtschaftsinformatik (Social Media, Audiovisuelle Kommunikation, Usability) an der Hochschule Heilbronn.

Zuvor tätig am Fraunhofer IAO in Stuttgart als Projektleiter im Umfeld Collaboration und Digitalisierung sowie Leiter des Competence Center Videokommunikation.

Für Themen- und Artikelvorschläge wenden Sie sich bitte an mich.